Rooibos and Raspberry Cupcakes

I MADE UP A RECIPE ALL BY MYSELF AND I AM SUPER PROUD OF IT!

IMG_2559

Sorry, I’m just super excited. So excited that I’ve already eaten three cupcakes before I even started writing this post. I just really felt like baking today but I couldn’t figure out what I wanted to make. After narrowing my options down, I decided that cupcakes would suffice.

I find plain vanilla cupcakes to be a bit boring when you don’t intend to ice them, so I wanted to take a different route today. I started off planning some bran muffins and then I remembered my delicious leftover raspberry compote that I made for my cheesecake! Suddenly my creativity levels spiked for the first time in about 4 years and I thought to make rooibos infused raspberry cupcakes. It just came to me.

I’ve made earl grey cupcakes before, so I knew how to infuse the milk. From there, I had tried rooibos cupcakes once and I really liked how they turned out, but I had forgotten all about them.

I knew that the sweetness from the honey and rooibos would complement the tartness from the raspberries incredibly, and boy did they. If you don’t want to use rooibos, then you can just use regular milk and leave out some of the honey. Alternatively, if you want rooibos but not raspberry cupcakes, then just omit the raspberry compote.

Hope you enjoy them as much as I did! Please let me know if you recreate these cupcakes, I’d really love to hear your thoughts and see how yours turned out.

(I’m just so proud)

IMG_2560IMG_2549

Rooibos and Raspberry Cupcakes

Makes 12

What you’ll need:

150ml milk

4 rooibos teabags

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

110g butter (room temperature)

180g sugar

250g flour

1 tsp baking powder

2 tbsp honey

2 tbsp raspberry compote (or jam)

A pinch of salt

IMG_2533

How to make it:

First, place your milk over a medium heat and remove once it starts to boil. Add extra milk in case needed. Then add in your teabags, put a lid on the pot and let cool. Try let the milk infuse for half an hour, but anything less than that is fine.

Then preheat the oven to 180°C. Add cupcake cases to a 12 hole muffin tin. Alternatively, you can grease each individual muffin indent.

In a bowl, cream the butter and sugar together until smooth and pale. Then add in one egg at a time, mixing in between each addition until fully incorporated.

Add vanilla extract to 125ml of your rooibos milk. Be sure to measure it out if you made extra. Make sure the milk is room temperature. Incorporate the flour into the mixture while alternating with the milk. Once combined, add in baking powder and honey.

Fold in the raspberry compote, but don’t thoroughly mix it (unless you want to). I liked my cupcakes to have a burst of berry every now and then. Spoon the mixture into the cupcake cases, filling them 2/3 of the way. I drizzled some extra honey and raspberry compote over the cupcakes, but that’s optional.

Cake for 25 minutes or until golden brown.

Once baked, remove from the oven and cool on a cooling rack. Decorate or ice if desired.

IMG_2539

Again, if you make this recipe then please let me know as I’d love to see how it turned out and to hear your thoughts! If you’re posting online then tag me @arianasinger on both Twitter and Instagram. Happy baking!

x Ariana

Leave a Reply

