Hearty Chicken Salad

It’s Mother’s Day today and I decided to treat my mom to lunch. With our new puppy, things have been quite hectic at home. By hectic, I mostly mean messy. She is also really good at climbing stairs, but can’t come down; so we’ve found ourselves having to do rescue missions at 2am fairly often. My mom had one of those nights last night so she wasn’t too excited when I woke her up at 9am with tea and presents. To apologise, and compensate a bit, I said I’d make lunch. Usually our Sunday lunches are simple and delicious. We range from kebabs to burgers and the occasional stir fry, but I wanted to treat my mom today.

My mom loves salads. She could eat them for every meal without hesitation. It’s completely strange, but as long as she’s happy. My dad, however, hates them. As genetics would have it, I’m kind of on the fence about them. A true 50/50 split. But it’s Mother’s Day after all, so I made a HUGE salad for lunch. My aim was to make a salad hearty enough so that we wouldn’t need anything on the side to full us up, while still making something super tasty. Mission accomplished? Obviously.

IMG_2652

I love my salads to be colourful! There is just something so inviting about a lush and vibrant salad that really makes it appetising. That’s why I always use red onions, for their lovely burst of colour and different coloured bell peppers, just for that nice rainbow effect.

IMG_2634IMG_2637

Most of the ingredients I already had at home, I only bought some artichokes and some cayenne pepper. But, if you want to either add some things or leave ingredients out that’s totally cool, the salad will be great regardless. I promise. I also made some roasted chickpeas for the first time, and they turned out so well! Also remember that you can use as many or few of a certain ingredient as you like!

IMG_2642

Hearty Chicken Salad

Serves 4

What you’ll need:

Baby spinach

Cherry tomatoes

Bell peppers (I used orange and yellow)

Cucumber

Marinated artichoke hearts

Feta Cheese

Honey and paprika roasted chickpeas

3 or 4 chicken breasts

1/4 red onion

Salt and pepper to taste

Chicken seasoning: salt, pepper, cayenne pepper and Italian herbs

Vinaigrette: 10 tbsp olive oil, 5 tbsp red wine vinegar, 1/2 tbsp dijon mustard, 1 clove garlic, 3tbsp honey

IMG_2640

How to make it:

If you are making roasted chickpeas, then prepare them an hour before, follow the recipe here.

If you are adding chicken, then dice your breasts into large pieces, then coat with spices and fry until cooked through and browned.

While the chicken is cooking, rinse and prepare all of your vegetables.

In a large bowl, add the spinach first, then top with all of your vegetables. Once the chicken is cooked and cooled, then add this to the salad and top with the rest of the vegetables.

To make the honey vinaigrette, combine all ingredients into a jar or container. Crush the garlic and shake to combine.

Dress the salad or serve the dressing on the side and enjoy!

IMG_2643

x Ariana

Leave a Reply

