Honey Paprika Roasted Chickpeas

I made my mom a really delicious and super easy chicken salad for Mother’s Day. I wanted to spice it up and make it really special so I went out of my comfort zone and roasted some chickpeas. I didn’t really follow a recipe. In fact, I usually don’t. I believe that it is incredibly important to trust your gut, especially when it comes to cooking and directions. Just remember – trust your gut. So I kind of just went for it here, I’ve used the honey and paprika flavour combination a few times when cooking chicken so I assumed it would be just as nice on roasted chickpeas. Pro tip: it does.

I discovered a few things when I made these today. I sort of did an experiment, I know, I should have just googled it but sometimes you don’t know exactly what you need to know until it’s too late. But don’t stress, I have all the answers you’ll need. First of all, if you want really crunchy chickpeas, then remove their skins as they retain moisture. They’re super easy to remove, just pinch them off. However, if you want crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside, then leave the skins on. For added crispiness, coat with honey before baking them, otherwise, add the honey halfway through. I personally prefer putting the honey on before baking and having a mixture of both textures.

These roasted chickpeas are great as a snack or perfect for a little crunch in salads. I added them to my Hearty Chicken Salad today and I can guarantee you that it’ll be a repeat recipe.

As always, if you have any questions or comments, please get in touch and let me know if you liked this recipe!

IMG_2632IMG_2583

Honey and Paprika Roasted Chickpeas

Cook time: 40 minutes

What you’ll need:

1 tin chickpeas

4 tbsp honey

Olive oil

Paprika

Salt and pepper to taste

IMG_2624

What to do:

First, preheat your oven to 180°C, then line a baking tray with baking paper.

Pat down your chickpeas just to make sure they are completely dry, and remove skins if desired. Then drizzle with olive oil, honey, and the spices then stir through, making sure the chickpeas are equally coated.

Bake for 40 minutes, making sure to move the chickpeas around every 10 minutes to ensure that they don’t get stuck or burnt. Remove from the heat and let cool before serving.

x Ariana

Leave a Reply

