MAC Attack – Every MAC Lipstick I Own

Almost every veteran beauty Youtuber has a video where they showcase their MAC lipstick collection. I don’t know who started the trend, but for some reason I am obsessed with it. I guess it helps to see people with similar skin tones to you wearing a lipstick you’re interested in, or perhaps it helps you broaden your makeup horizons. Regardless, I watch them all the time – so much so that I felt inspired to showcase (and also chronicle) my MAC lipstick collection, with some lip liner bonuses.

Some history; I got my first MAC lipstick when I was 15. It was the Viva Glam Gaga because pale pink was trending and I was obsessed with Gaga. This was followed by a hand me down of High Tea from my mom. I then bought Rebel in 2013 – a forever favourite. In four short years, my MAC collection grew from 3 to 13 almost by mistake.

I wear some lipsticks all the time, while others are occasion and season based. I find cyber particularly hard to casually wear, especially in Cape Town where everything is casual and few people dress up regularly. I wear it when I can, but mostly in winter.

You might notice this, but just in case… I know I don’t have a MAC red lipstick. It’s a shame. I do own others from different brands. I also own various other lipsticks and liners from NARS, Colourpop, Topshop etc., MAC just seems to be my most favoured brand. I bought Partyline by MAC but that vanished from my makeup bag before I even got the chance to wear it – I was v upset.

Quick disclaimer – the lighting went wonky while I was photographing my swatches, so I apologise for that and hope it doesn’t effect the true colours of the lipstick. All photos are unedited for that reason. Most of my lipsticks are matte. For skin reference: I wear NW20. 

IMG_5158IMG_7285

From left to right: Love Forever!, All Fired Up, Fusion Pink, Please Me, Viva Glam Gaga, High Tea, Honeylove, Viva Glam II, Mocha, Whirl, Amorous, Rebel, Cyber.

IMG_7287

Just in case you wanted to see the shades compared to my cat. Otherwise against a very red chest of drawers. The first image was taken in sunlight, but also showcases the colours in the shade. The second was taken indoors.

I’ve grouped the lipsticks by colour and given you close up comparative swatches between them: pinks, nude/browns and purples.

IMG_7294From left to right: Love Forever!, All Fired Up, Fusion Pink, Please Me, Viva Glam Gaga.IMG_7302From left to right: High Tea, Honeylove, Viva Glam II, Mocha,Whirl.IMG_7309From left to right:  Amorous, Rebel, Cyber.

A bonus – my lip liners. They work super well with the MAC lipsticks I own!

IMG_7316IMG_7317From left to right: Spice, Edge to Edge, Beet, Nightmoth

So there you have it! All of my MAC lipsticks and liners. The liners correspond pretty well with the lipsticks. I know this sounds silly but I actually learned a lot about my lipstick collection – apparently I like nudes and browns and also pinks?? I rarely wear the pinks. Particularly Love Forever! and Fusion Pink. So I guess those are my new goals for the next little while.

I hope you enjoyed this post and found it helpful if you needed to compare shades! Which are your favourite MAC lipsticks and are there any that I am desperately missing from my collection? Let me know!

Ariana

ps. this was mostly for me to use as a reference when planning a look or when thinking about buying new lipsticks.

Leave a comment